Mary Lowther Ranney Distinguished Alumna Award

Each year a Distinguished Alumna is nominated by fellow alumnae to be honored at the annual alumnae luncheon. The first recipients were chosen in 1988 and were two members of the Westridge student body from its founding in 1913. The citation for the award reads: 

To honor Mary Lowther Ranney the award is given annually by Westridge School to an alumna whose life embodies the spirit of the Westridge motto, Surgere Tentamus, and who, by her commitment to her chosen path, her dedication to lifelong growth and learning, and her habits of heart, mind, and action is an example and inspiration to the Westridge community.

Vicki Vlachakis von Holzhausen

Above: 2022 Mary Lowther Ranney Distinguished Alumna Award Recipient Vicki Vlachakis von Holzhausen '90

2022 Mary Lowther Ranney Distinguished Alumna Award Recipient

Vicki Vlachakis von Holzhausen ’90

Vicki von Holzhausen ’90 is an award-winning automotive designer turned entrepreneur bent on creating a market for high-end alternatives to leather. For years, Vicki worked in Europe at the highest levels of automotive design with such brands as Audi, Mercedes-Benz, and General Motors. Her work has been displayed at numerous international auto shows as well as the Chicago Museum of Art and earned her a spot in the Automotive Hall of Fame for excellence in leadership.

Upon returning to her native Los Angeles, Vicki married her design and technical expertise with her passion for sustainability. She launched the von Holzhausen brand, a line of accessories made with a 100% animal free and sustainable leather alternative. But the brand’s mission is much bigger than the luxury accessories it sells today–it is to make leather extinct by proving that luxury buyers will purchase products using leather alternative if offered a truly comparable product. To date, the company has been incredibly successful with significant sales; features in The Hollywood ReporterVogue, and The New York Times; and a partnership with Apple creating tech accessories available in all Apple stores.

Giving back is an integral part of Vicki’s life and brand. Von Holzhausen is partnered with Hope Gardens, an organization focused on helping women regain independence through long-term rehabilitation programs and support services.

Vicki earned a bachelor’s degree in automotive design from Art Center. She lives in Malibu with her husband and two boys. In her spare time, she enjoys playing the piano, sailing, and creating messy art with her kids.

Nominate the next Mary Lowther Ranney Distinguished Alumna Award recipient!

Nominate an alumna

Ivy icon

Distinguished Young Alumna Award

The Westridge Distinguished Young Alumna Award was established in 2020 to honor each year a young alumna who has made a meaningful impact in her community and notable strides in her chosen field. The citation for the award reads:

This award is given annually by Westridge School to a young alumna who exhibits excellence, leadership, and agency during her educational and career path, and who continues to serve as a role model and inspiration for Westridge students.


Above: 2022 Distinguished Young Alumna Award Recipient Bianca Mabute-Louie '08

2022 Distinguished Young Alumna Award Recipient

Bianca Mabute-Louie ’08

Bianca is a researcher, educator, and racial justice consultant. Having worked in schools and community organizations for over 10 years, Bianca has experience facilitating transformative conversations and mobilizing diverse communities for racial justice. She has a master’s in Asian American studies, and is currently pursuing a Ph.D in sociology at Rice University. Bianca has written for Elle Magazine, spoken on ABC7 and Cheddar News, and been featured in Time, CNN, and USA Today, among others for her work on anti-Asian violence and Black-Asian relations. Bianca is currently working on her first book, which centers Asian Americans in the national discourse on race, religion, and politics.

Nominate the next Distinguished Young Alumna Award recipient!

Nominate an alumna

Ivy icon

Past Award Winners

* denotes deceased